Beating procrastination

Nobody doing a PhD will find this surprising, but I need to spell it out for myself… I am procrastinating, big time. I was supposed to have a written report outlining my progress in terms of my theoretical framework for my supervision meeting yesterday. But I didn’t bring myself to do it. I had some random notes and thoughts, some reflections on readings and mostly lots of things to say, however nothing on paper. Why I didn’t do it? Well, I felt preoccupied with reading and transcribing, and I never found the time…

Now I think it’s time to change this. Recently I have been researching  strategies which would improve my motivation and work patterns. What I am going to try is to assign regular writing times each week and spend them focused on my PhD, no distractions, no workshops, no tea making every half an hour. Moreover, I was told about this way of proceeding twice just yesterday – once by my supervisor, who said I have to filter my commitments and allow time just for writing, and then again during a workshop I attended in the afternoon. Isn’t this a sign that I have to try?…

So, looking at my diary, it seems that my writing days will be Wednesdays mornings and Fridays all day. Oh and yes, I am starting today…

2 comments

  1. TheOthers1 · · Reply

    I’m supposed to be looking into programs to get my phd, but I’m dreading it. It freaks me out even looking at applications because I don’t feel organized or have enough professional development to charge forward with it. Grad school made me want to cry and I worry working on my doctorate could be worse. I’m being a baby though

    As for procrastination, I’m a sufferer of it. Good luck on organizing your life to accomplish what you need to. Procrastination is a hard habit to break.

    1. Thank you 🙂 I have been struggling through my PhD for various reasons, mainly organising myself and finding time, but if you ask me about my PhD, I’d say it’s one of the best experiences in my life. There’s so much learning involved and doing things for the first time, but most importantly getting to know yourself and pushing your boundaries.

      Good luck to you finding the right programme, I’m sure you would enjoy being a PhD student!

Leave a Reply

