Quote of the day

“I want to stay as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can’t see from the center.”
– Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

This quote reminds me of the process of doing research – one wants to see, one wants to know, one wants to understand and be able to explain, but this only happens when one is willing to dive in and take risks. I find the whole research process amazing and definitely engaging for curious people like me… Studying something unknown and somewhat different, becoming involved and entangled in data and notes, however, can make you ‘go over’. Well then, doing research is about finding the right balance of involvement and distance, of being an outsider while becoming an insider. Yes, knowing gives confidence but may deflect attention from the tiny detail and new unexpected insights. I am confused, I want to know everything, I want to be involved, but I don’t want to miss a thing at the same time. Is it just me feeling that way?…  Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

