A list of resolutions for 2013

It’s the middle of January, actually, even past the middle… and to be honest I have no idea when the last two three (by now!) week  have gone. Maybe it was between the pile of books on my desk, the 5,000 words report I wrote, the school visits, my birthday (a year wiser!) and all the little distractions in between, but I am only realising that now. PhDs rock, there never seems to be enough time and planning done!

I wrote my list of resolutions at the very beginning of 2013 and meant to put them up on the blog as a promise but as you might have guessed, it slipped away. Here they are now, a little late but better than never, a wise person had once said… Following my successful resolutions keeping from last year, I am going with even more this time – pushing my limits and making life more interesting.

1. Exercise regularly – look good and feel even better. I kept this one ok last year with a promise of 3 days a week. I’m going to stretch it to 5 days and work out to a personal training plan just to increase the difficulty. Yes, I’m like that, competitive and pushy!

2. Read more! Not that I don’t read enough, quite the contrary, I’ve read loads and loads but lately it all seems PhD related and I’m getting a little tired. This promise is about reading for pleasure and finding the time to do it. So I’ve set a target – 12 books for 12 months. I can’t really promise more than that as I need to be doing an awful lot more, but these 12 books can be my escape before I get too knowledgeable in my area or lose my mind 🙂

3. Learn a language. Or refresh and brush up one… I used to study Spanish at high school but I am now back to a very basic level. I used to be able to speak French too, but not practicing a language makes you forget. So back to the basics and off I go to learn…

4. Challenge myself academically and physically – I have been inspired to set this resolution by my NOvember challenge month last year when I was writing every day and going to the gym everyday while not eating any processed sugar. I still remember the sweet feeling of completing the whole 30 days without a fail. And I would like more of that so no fear, I’ll be setting more challenges during this year.

5. Spend more time with friends – the PhD can be a lonely journey, an incredibly busy but lonely time. I will try to avoid this as best as I can by paying attention to my social life and friends. It’s a promise!

6. Cook more! I loved that film called ‘Julia and Julia’ where the main character decided to cook 356 different recipes in a year all from the other Julia’s cookbook and she kept writing about the kitchen adventures on her blog. I would like to try that, try to cook all the recipes in a single cook book. I wouldn’t be as ambitious as cooking 356 dishes but at least I’ll taste some new foods. Who knows, may be one day I will start a cooking blog…

These are my resolutions, let’s see how the new year goes! All the best to all of us!!!

One comment

  1. I am extremely inspired with your writing abilities and also with the structure for your weblog.

    Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize itt your self?
    Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to see a
    great weblog like tyis one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

